January cleaning

I thought I was going to have a lazy day today, but seem to have changed my mind, and have been on an organisation kick – I recently moved from a big two bedroom flat to a tiny one bedroom house, and sometimes the sheer amount of my stuff is a little stressful (even though I’ve paired down a *lot*).

I’m mid through organising my two big Ikea bookcases (the ones that everyone seems to have), and have been packing away books I want to keep but don’t need accessible, and generally trying to create some organisation (with Buffy Season 2 in the background for company – and am bemoaning the fact that in the pairing down I sold all the other seasons… I want them back!).

Whilst sorting through my stuff, there is so much that I haven’t read or watched, or don’t remember them if I have read/watched them I thought I’d make a list of all the ones are on my to read/to watch list, and try and keep some sort of track.

To read:

  • Aesops Fables
  • Jane Austen – Persuasion
  • Jane Austen – Mansfield Park
  • Jane Austen – Emma
  • Jane Austen – Northanger Abbey
  • Paul Auster – Book of Illusions
  • Paul Auster – Oracle Night (technically I’ve read these last two, I remember I loved them, but I don’t remember the stories)
  • Bulgarov – The Master and Margarita
  • Agatha Christie – 20s omnibus (this was a christmas present, so hasn’t been there as long as some of them!)
  • J Fennimore Cooper – Last of the Mohicans (I read this in my teens, but I don’t think I understood it)
  • Danielewski – House of Leaves (tried to get into this several times…doesn’t bode well)
  • Delafield – Consequences
  • Dickens – Oliver Twist
  • Daphne Du Maurier – My Cousin Rachel (again, read it, don’t remember it)
  • Dumas – Count of Monte Cristo
  • Julian Fellowes – Past Imperfect
  • Fitzgerald – Great Gatsby ( read it, don’t remember it)
  • Flaubert – Madame Bovary
  • Ken Follett – Pillars of the Earth
  • Alan Garner – , Weirdstone of Brisingamen quartet
  • Veronica Henry – the Beach Hut
  • Ishiguro – Remains of the Day
  • Henry James – Daisy Miller (read, don’t remember)
  • Norman Juster – Phantom Tollbooth (currently reading)
  • Jack Kerouac – On the Road (got halfway through when I was in Cape Cod at the start of Route six, never picked it up again after I got home)
  • Kate Kerrigan – Ellis Island
  • Barbara Kingsolver – Poisonwood Bible
  • Nicole Krauss – History of Love (read, don’t remember)
  • Larsson – the last two in the Millennium trilogy
  • Rosamund Lehman – Weather in the Streets
  • L’engle – Wrinkle in Time
  • Jonathan Lehmen -The Fortress of Solitude (got halfway through this about a year ago, but time to start again I think!)
  • C S Lewis – the Narnia books (read the first three, never read the rest, recently got given all seven)
  • Melville – Moby Dick
  • David Mitchell – Cloud Atlas
  • Lorrie Moore – A Gate at the Stairs
  • Kate Mosse – Labyrinth (read, don’t remember)
  • Murakami – The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
  • Audrey Niffeneger – Her Fearful Symmetry
  • Ovid – Metamorphoses
  • Pirsig – Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
  • Poe – The Fall of the House of Usher and other stories (have read some, not all)
  • Eva Rice – The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets (read, don’t remember)
  • Roy – the God of Small things
  • Stoker – Dracula
  • Kathryn Stockett – The Help
  • Donna Tartt – The Secret History (read, don’t remember)
  • Tolstoy – Anna Karenina
  • Edith Wharton – Age of Innocence (read, don’t remember)
  • T H White – The Once and Future King
  • Tobias Wolff – Old School
  • Few Eggs and No Oranges
  • Good Evening Mrs Craven (halfway through the short stories in here, not loving it)
  • Tales from One Thousand and One Nights
  • Helena Frith Powell –  Two Lipsticks and a Lover
  • Janelle – McCulloch – La Vie Parissiene

I’d also really like to re-read and finish this time, the Autobiography of Aerosmith, Walk this Way. If I review all the books once I’ve read them, hopefully I’ll remember them and won’t have to re-read them!  BTW, please don’t think the books I can’t remember can’t have been very good.  I have a terrible memory. So much so that when I re-read The Time Traveller’s Wife, a book I adore, I literally couldn’t remember the ending at all, so much so that it shocked me to my core when I re-read it. It’s one of my favourite books, I remembered loving it the first time, but I literally couldn’t remember the ending at all!  I think sometimes I read books too fast, and sometimes I skim without meaning to in a hurry to finish. Please also don’t think too much of me for all the classics on that list – I’ve owned some of them for years, and they’re only still on the list because I’ve been reading far less high-brow stuff!

To watch:

  • Jimmy Reardon
  • Citizen Kane
  • Houseboat (christmas present!)
  • Garden State (watched, loved, don’t remember.  Oh dear)
  • Ed Wood
  • Delicatessen

Plus I’ve a few recorded that I haven’t ever watched that I need to get round to. If I don’t review they weren’t worth reviewing!

Leave a Reply

